Scientific Rationale

In the ALMA era a noteworthy effort to provide state-of-the-art chemical models that allow to interpret the data is indispensable. The chemistry exerts its influence on the environment dominating the cooling of gas in dense regions and also controlling the ionization balance, thereby affecting the coupling of magnetic fields to the gas. It is then fundamental to include chemistry and the related microphysics in computational studies aimed at understanding and probing the physical conditions of the different environments. However, this requires detailed information and knowledge of the basic processes which are obtained from laboratory measurements and theoretical studies of chemical reactions in gas phase, and the study and the characterization of the surface of solid materials where molecules could form.

On the other hand, to include a chemical network, and all the tightly connected physical processes in hydrodynamcal simulations, together with the wide range of involved spatial and temporal scales in astrophysics, leads to a computationally expensive problem. We therefore aim for the development and maintenance of appropriate and well optimized modelling tools that can be employed to study different astrophysical problems.

It is then important to provide a platform connecting the different experts to stimulate an exchange of ideas, and to work towards a coherent understanding of chemical modelling in astrophysics.

This workshop aims at astrophysicists who develop tools and/or employ chemistry and microphysics in hydrodynamical simulations of the interstellar medium, and experts on the calculations and measurements of rates for chemical processes relevant in astrophysics, both in the gas phase as well as on dust.

The workshop will cover the following topics:

  • Gas/Dust phase processes: theory and experiments
  • Computational Astrochemistry: Numerical Codes and Databases
  • Chemistry/Microphysics in Hydrodynamical Simulations
  • Modelling Observations




  • Robi Banerjee (Hamburger Sternwarte, Germany)
  • Stefano Bovino (Hamburger Sternwarte, Germany)
  • Paola Caselli (MPE, Germany)
  • Daniele Galli (Florence Observatory, Italy)
  • Tommaso Grassi (Starplan, Denmark)
  • Bastian Körtgen (Hamburger Sternwarte, Germany)
  • Daniel Seifried (University of Cologne, Germany)
  • Dominik Schleicher (Universidad de Concecpion, Chile)
  • Wing-Fai Thi (MPE, Germany)


  • Robi Banerjee (Hamburger Sternwarte, Germany)
  • Stefano Bovino (Hamburger Sternwarte, Germany)
  • Bastian Körtgen (Hamburger Sternwarte, Germany)

Invited speakers

  • Stephanie Cazaux (Groningen University, Netherlands)
  • Cecilia Ceccarelli (IPAG, Grenoble, France)
  • Paul Clark (Cardiff University, Wales)
  • Dieter Gerlich (Technische Universitaet Chemnitz, Germany)
  • Troels Haugbølle (Starplan, Denmark)
  • Guillermo Muñoz-Caro (Astrobiology Center, Madrid, Spain)
  • David Neufeld (Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA)
  • Simon Portegies Zwart (Leiden, Netherlands)
  • Dmitry Semenov (MPIA, Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Alexander Tielens (Leiden University, Netherlands)
  • Valentine Wakelam (University of Bordeaux, France)
  • Laurent Wiesenfeld (IPAG, Grenoble, France)
  • Register


    Available soon.

    Practical Info: Venue

    The workshop will be held at the Lecture Hall H of the main building of the University of Hamburg. This is located in Edmund-Siemers-Allee in the nice Hamburg neighborhood Rotherbaum and close to the station Dammtor.

    Practical Info: Hotels

    Blocks of rooms at discounted rates have been set aside in the hotels listed below. All hotels are within walking distance of the conference venue (see maps). To take advantage of the discounted rates you have to reserve the room before the deadlines reported here below.

    Please book through the hotel webpage by using the keyword: "AstroModel2017".

    Mercure Hotel Hamburg Mitte: 20 single rooms available at a rate of 80 EUR including breakfast. Deadline June 4th. Map Link.

    Hotel Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum: single rooms available at a rate of 89 EUR including breakfast. Double rooms available at a rate of 112 EUR including breakfast. Deadline June 11th. Map Link.

    Hotel Wagner: 10 single rooms available at a rate of 100 EUR including breakfast. Deadline June 18th. Map Link.

    Programme and Social Event

    Ratsherrn Brewery Tour + Beer Tasting

    We plan a visit to the local Hamburg Brewery, Ratsherrn. The tour + beer tasting it costs 17.50 EUR per person and will take place on Tuesday July 18th before the social dinner. If you want to participate please specify this in the registration form.

    The Ratsherrn Brewery is located in the heart of Sternschanze, the nightlife district. It can be reached in 20 minutes by foot from the conference venue.

    Social Dinner

    The social dinner will take place on Tuesday July 18th at 07:30 pm at
    the Nord-Event Panoramadeck at the heart of Hamburg with a stunning 360o views over the Alster and the city.

    Panorama Deck

    The price per person is 25 EUR including drinks.
    Money will be collected at the conference registration desk.

    The Nord-Event Panorama is located at
    Dammtorwall 15
    20355 Hamburg